Annual General Meeting, 2016

Our 2016 Annual General Meeting is on Wednesday, January 25th – 6:00 to 8:00pm on the 4th floor of 460 Main St.

Please review our by-laws (link below), Agenda and Board Nominations prior to attending by following the links below:

Agenda for the 2016 Annual General Meeting to be held at 402- 460 Main Street, January 25th, 2017 at 6:00pm:

  1. Welcome and Introductions (Heather Sadowy, President)
  2. Review and Approval of Agenda (Heather Sadowy, President)
  3. Report: Review of Operations (Aaron Russin, Operations Manager)
  4. Report: Review and Approval of Financial Statements and Audit (Mike Moreau, Treasurer)
  5. Appointment of Auditor (Mike Moreau, Treasurer)
  6. 2016-17 Board Nominations, Open from the Floor (Heather Sadowy, President)
  7. Election of the 2016-17 Board of Directors (Heather Sadowy, President)
  8. Other Business
  9. Adjournment

Call for Nominations, 2016 AGM

Peg City Car Co-op is governed by its elected working board of eight (maximum) Director positions. These ordinary members volunteer 10-20 hours of work per month, depending on the time of year, and chair or contribute to at least one of four committees. At each Annual General Meeting, four Directors are elected to the board from the membership for a two-year term.

This year, there are four vacancies to be filled, and there are three incumbent Directors seeking re-election (bios are below).

Directors seeking re-election:

Liz Dykman (Secretary) was one of the four co-founders who examined the feasibility of carsharing in Winnipeg. Liz has volunteered on the boards of various local environmental organizations for the past 15 years. She has a BSc in Environmental Science from the University of Manitoba and an MES in environmental studies from the University of Waterloo. Liz was the coordinator of the Manitoba Eco-Network for eight years before she joined the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment Secretariat in 2008.

Dayna Kroeker (Member at large) joined the Peg City board in Spring 2016, and currently also acts as the chair of the Marketing Committee. Dayna holds a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Environmental Science from the University of Manitoba, and has worked as the marketing coordinator for Winnipeg’s oldest architecture firm, MMP Architects, since 2013. In addition, she has filled a marketing and graphic communications role for a variety of local organizations including Fruit Share, Food Matters Manitoba, and the Environmental Conservation Lab at the University of Manitoba.

Sean Madden (Vice President) joined the board in 2012, chairs Peg City’s Fleet Committee and also serves on the Finance Committee. Sean holds a B.Sc. (Hons) from the University of Manitoba in Environmental Science and is a Project Coordinator for the Power Smart for Commercial New Buildings program with Manitoba Hydro. Before joining Manitoba Hydro, Sean was the City of Winnipeg’s Climate Change Coordinator. Sean enjoys his car-free life by pushing the limits on what you can carry on a bike trailer (16 foot 2×4’s), and how many car seats he can fit into a wagon (so he can get his two youngsters to the carshare car, of course).

Note: We are especially interested in Directors with finance, legal, or business experience, as well as human resources and/or governance skills. But most of all, your interest and enthusiasm are the greatest asset you can bring to the table!

2016 Nomination for Board of Directors
These members have put their names forward to run as directors. There will also, of course, be nominations taken from the floor.

Aaron Russin
Shae Yakichuk

Minutes and financial statement from our 2016 AGM are available below:

AGM 2016